Annual General Meeting and Front of House Awards 2017

Posted on Nov 17, 2017

The Bridport Local Food Group welcomed an attendance of nearly 100 people to their Annual General Meeting held at the Bridport Town Hall.  During the evening the guests were given a summary of the year’s activities  that had been undertaken by the volunteers who make up the Bridport Local Food Group by Chairman, Jay Anderson, along with a summary of the Accounts by Treasurer, Peter Garlick.   Activities during the year included:  the Bridport Best Breakfast, the Bridport Food Festival, the production of the Bridport and surrounding area food and drink guide, the launch of the Bridport Community Cooking Kit and the annual Front of House awards.    During the AGM the steering group members were elected.  After two years as Chairman, Jay Anderson, stepped down and the new Chairman voted in was Kathy Dare, who had previously undertaken the role of Vice Chairman.

The highlight of the evening was the awarding of the 2017 Front of House Awards, kindly sponsorerd by Baboo Gelato.  Compererd by Bill Davis, the prizes were given out by Sam Hanbury, Managing Director of Baboo Gelato.    “Over 500 nominations from 39 different establishments around the town were received from the general public.  Praise indeed for the standard of service that had been given during  visits to our local food and drink establishments” said Kathy Dare, Chairman, Bridport Local Food Group.  “Everyone nominated and the business they represent should be very proud.”

For a complete list of nominees and establishments  front of house nominations 2017

Winners Front of house awards 2017


Winner:  Mike Reid, The Greenhouse Cafe

Runner up: Claire Harvey, Moore than Tea

Team Award:  Citrus Grove Cafe

Take Away

Winner: Sue Rattenbury, Longs Fish and Chips

Runner up: Charlotte King, Refresh

Team Award: Longs Fish & Chips, Bridport


Winner:  Heather Smith, Pickled Ginger, Bridport

Team Award: Beach & Barnicott, Bridport

Public House

Winner: Geraldine Le Moing, The George, Bridport

Runner up: Simone Freeman, New Inn, Shipton Gorge

Team Award: Ropemakers, Bridport

Food & Drink Retail

Winner:  Angie Dedman, Fruit n Two Veg, Beaminster

Team:  Framptons Butchers, Bridport